You are here

The Rugby World Cup Sevens begins Friday, July 20 in San Francisco's AT&T baseball stadium, home of the SF Giants. The event will mark three-days of exciting women's and men's sevens to determine the winner of this quadrennial tournament. Invited are 24-Men's sides, and 16-Women's teams. Both USA teams are seeded fifth.

On Friday, the Men's bracket commences with eight-qualifying matches from lower ranked World Rugby core circuit teams (seeded 9th through 16th) versus other teams that qualified in previous tournaments.

The Friday lineup follows:

  • Kenya v. Tonga
  • Canada v. Papua New Guinea
  • France v. Jamaica
  • Wales v. Zimbabwe
  • Samoa v. Uganda
  • Russia v. Hong Kong
  • Japan v. Uruguay
  • Ireland v. Chile

The USA will play the winner of the Wales-Zimbabwe match on Friday at 9:37 p.m. PT (12:37 a.m. ET). Then, should the Eagles advance the first day of play; they will meet the winner of the England v. Samoa/Uganda game on Saturday.

The 16-Women's sides will also begin on Friday. Australia and New Zealand, the two teams that have dominated Women's 7s, are favored to meet in the finals. These Down Under rivals met in the gold medal match in the 2016 Olympics, won by Australia.

The Friday lineup follows:

  • Fiji v. Spain
  • France v. Japan
  • Russia v. South Africa
  • Canada v. Brazil
  • Australia v. Papua New Guinea
  • New Zealand v. Mexico
  • England v. Ireland
  • USA v. China (12:34 p.m. PT on Friday)

Should the Eagles win the opener, they will play the winner of the Russia-South Africa match.

For up-to-date news about tickets and stadium information, link to
(NB. NBC Sports will present live coverage of all matches of the men’s and women’s tournament. )