You are here

The Rugby World Cup 2019 is two-years away and host nation Japan is busy with pre tournament planning.  Twelve venues were recently announced indicating the stadiums that will participate in the event. These range in capacity from 16,000 in Kamaishi City to the two largest, the International Stadium in Yokohama City (72,000), and the National Stadium currently being built in Tokyo, which will seat 80,000. If completed in time, the National will feature the cup championship match of the RWC. If not, then the venue is scheduled for Yokohama. 

From past experience, especially, RWC 2015 in England, organizers know that fans will be more interested in watching the cachet fifteens, and less interested in the Tier two sides. To that end, the premiere matchups and also the Japan XV games will be played in the larger size stadiums.

International visitor travel represents another important variable determining where venues are slotted. More attendees will come from more prosperous nations, particularly those with a chance for a medal. Fewer fans will come from smaller, less wealthy nations, and they will play in the lowest capacity stadiums. In RWC 2015, Georgia played two pool games in Kingsholm Stadium, Gloucester, with 16,500 seats. Namibia played two contests in Exeter's Sandy Park Stadium with the lowest capacity at 12,000.

No date has been set yet for specific stadium dates, awaiting the draw among the twelve qualifiers, and, later the qualifying rounds for the other eight teams.

The Stadium Line Up in Japan

  1. Sapporo Dome, Sapporo City (: 41,410)
  2. Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Iwate Prefecture/Kamaishi City (: 16,187)
  3. Kumagaya Rugby Ground, Saitama Prefecture/Kumagaya City (: 24,000)
  4. New National Stadium Japan, Tokyo (: 80,000)
  5. International Stadium Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture/Yokohama City (: 72,327)
  6. Ogasayama Sports Park Ecopa Stadium, Shizuoka Prefecture (: 50,889)
  7. Toyota Stadium, Aichi Prefecture/Toyota City (: 45,000)
  8. Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Osaka Prefecture/Higashi Osaka City (: 30,000)
  9. Kobe City Misaki Park Stadium, Kobe City (: 30,312)
  10. Hakatanomori Football Stadium, Fukuoka City (: 22,563)
  11. Kumamoto Prefectural Athletic Stadium, Kumamoto Prefecture/Kumamoto City (: 32,000)
  12. Oita Stadium, Oita Prefecture (: 40,000)

The RWC starts on September 20, 2019, and ends on November 2.