You are here

Men's and Women's 7s Captains in Sydney 2018

The second round of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens series begins in Sydney’s Allianz Stadium where sixteen teams will compete for the title. Australia lead after winning the first championship in Dubai, with the USA second.

The Three Pools are:

A – Australia, France, Spain, Papua New Guinea

B – USA, New Zealand, England, Japan

C – Russia, Canada, Ireland, Fiji

Importantly, the 2018 Women’s Sevens World Cup in San Francisco will use 2016/2017 standings, placement after the Sydney and Dubai tournaments, and, finally, placement in Hong Kong in April to determine the seedings for Sevens RWC this summer.

The Men’s event begins on Saturday, June 27, with sixteens teams competing, including a local, Oceania representative in Papua New Guinea. The Men have played two rounds in Dubai and Cape Town.

The Four Pools are:

A – New Zealand, Fiji, Samoa, Russia

B – Argentina, France, Wales, Kenya

C – South Africa, England, Spain, Papua New Guinea

D – Canada, USA, Australia, Scotland

Pool A is loaded with talent and historic, regional competition with three entrants from Oceania.

The USA seek to rise from a below midway standing after a poor Dubai showing of 12th place. Perry Baker will return to join Carlin Isles. This also marks the circuit debut of Chris Mattina, out of Xavier High School, U. of Delaware, and the New York AC. Good luck to him.

The Eagles kick off Thursday at 6:44 p.m. ET against England. Up next is Japan at 9:28 p.m. Then it’s New Zealand at 12:12 a.m. Friday. All matches will be streamed on The Rugby Channel.

All games – Women’s and Men’s – will be live streamed also on the web site following listed and local Aussie time.