You are here


The eleventh U20 Trophy Championship, the eight-team contest for second ranked youth sides, will take place in Romania. The tournament starts on August 24 and runs until September 10. The winner advances next year to the World Rugby Under 20 Championship, twelve-team event.

The eight participants represent world areas of rugby:

Samoa (relegated from the U20)



Hong Kong

Portugal (runner up in 2017)



Canada (the North American representative)

By losing to Canada on points differential in a 1-1, two game series, the Eagles failed to make it into the 2018 event. The USA twice participated in the top tier U20 Championship, once in 2008 when 16-teams played, and in 2013 when, after finishing last, they were demoted.

After finishing third in the 2014 U20 Trophy beating Uruguay 26-25, the USA lost to Canada in the 2014 regional playoffs, and have not beaten them since.

The lack of annual contests for the Eagles - except for the Canadian two match series - limits the amount of competition and hinders improvement.

France won this year's eleventh U20 Championship; breaking a ten-year run dominated by New Zealand. England, and South Africa. These nations finished in the top four places in ten out of the eleven events. France manged to achieve four, top four placements.

The U20 moves to Argentina in 2019 and will include the winner of this U20 Trophy tounament.

Brazil will host the 2019 U20 Trophy Championship.