You are here

In Paris, at the conclusion of the last and tenth tournament in the 2018/2019 HSBC Sevens event, World Rugby announced a spate of awards for teams, coaches, and players.

Fiji and the USA dominated the accolades as these teams finished first and second in the season.

The awards follow:

Rookie of the Year - Meli Derenalagi, Fiji

DHL Impact Player – Vilimoni Botitu, Fiji

Capgemini Coach of the Series, Mike Friday, USA

UL Mark of Excellence – Danny Barrett, USA

(Watch the try that won the award at:

Gilbert Top Try Scorer – Carlin Isles, USA (#52)

Team Fair Play – France

TAG Heuer Don’t Crack Under Pressure - Pol Pia, Spain

Dream Team

Meli Derenalagi, Fiji

Vilimoni Botitu, Fiji

Jerry Tuwai, Fiji

Aminiasi Tuimba, Fiji

Folau Niua, USA

Ben Pinkleman, USA

Stephen Tomasin, USA

Series Scoring Leaders

Andrew Knewstubb, NZ =       307

Madison Hughes, USA =          299

Carlin Isles, USA =                      260

Nathan Hirayama, Can. =        254

Jean Pascal Barraque, Fr. =    244