You are here

Sevens action

After seven of nine scheduled events, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens shapes up to be a tight battle for the most points with South Africa, Fiji, and New Zealand - perennial powerhouses - vying for the top spot. England vaulted into fourth with a win in Japan, its' first 22 point championship tally since Wellington in 2013.

Australia, formerly in fourth place before Japan, experienced a disastrous tournament, falling to fifth place, a full nine points behind England. The Aussies had high hopes of maintaining the fourth spot to qualify for the Olympics in 2016. (Remember, England would play as Great Britain.)

With only two events left - Glasgow and London - the Wallabies must finish high in both tournaments, and hope that England falters. The two-nation dynamic will be played out in Scotland in May as both nations are in Pool A, along with France and Russia.

Canada's fourth place finish in Japan allowed them to be head of Pool D in Glasgow when another tension-filled contest will occur against the USA. An improved Japan and a tough Argentina side round out the entries.

Pool B will contain South Africa, New Zealand, Samoa, and Kenya. Pool C sees Fiji, Scotland, Wales, and Portugal.

Top Standings

South Africa                129

Fiji                                   125

New Zealand              120

England                        100

Australia                        91

USA                                 71

Scotland                        67

Argentina                       66

Samoa                            56