You are here

The USA Women ended the 2017/2018 HSBC World Rugby Sevens series with a fifth place finish at the Paris tournament. The Eagles went 4-2 with wins over Spain (2), Japan, and Fiji. Losses came against France in pool play and then a defeat to Canada in the quarterfinals.

New Zealand won the Paris event gold medal with a trouncing of antipodal rival Australia 33-7.

The Wallaroos had clinched the series championship even before the game started.

In the final match for the tournament's fifth place spot, the Eagles and Fijiana were tied 7-7 at the break. The USA scored three tries in the second half, keeping Fiji blanked. Final score Eagles 28-7, ending with four tries and four conversions by Kelter (1) and Heavirland (3).

The fifth place Paris result landed the Eagles in the series fifth position behind Australia, New Zealand, France and Canada.
Final Series Results follow:

  1. Australia - 92
  2. New Zealand - 90
  3. France - 68
  4. Canada - 60
  5. USA - 56
  6. Russia - 46
  7. Spain - 43
  8. England - 32

Next year, China will replace Japan as the twelfth core team.

These teams and others will meet mid July in the World Rugby Sevens World Cup in San Francisco.