You are here

Sports Complex Hong Kong


The IRB has announced a qualifying tournament for the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series 2014/15 on 12-13 September at Shek Kip Mei stadium in Hong Kong.

With four places up for grabs as core teams on next season’s series, Japan, China, South Africa, Kenya, Brazil, Fiji, Mexico, Hong Kong, France, Netherlands, Portugal and Argentina will compete across three pools of four teams, with the top two from each pool, along with two best third-placed teams progressing to the quarter-final stage.

The four quarter-final winners will progress to the semis but, more importantly, win qualification as core teams on the 2014/15 Series, joining New Zealand, Australia, Russia, England, Spain, USA and Canada. A 12th team will be invited to participate at each tournament.

“These are exciting times for women’s Rugby Sevens,” said IRB Head of Competitions and Performance Mark Egan.