You are here

Ruby Tui - Player of the Final

With one HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series tournament remaining, New Zealand have probably regained the 2016/2017 championship after having lost it last season (and the Olympic gold medal) to Australia. The final event will take place in Clermont-Ferrand, France, and the Black Ferns stand fourteen-points above second place Canada. It is unlikely that New Zealand, which have won four of five tournaments with one third place finish (Sydney), will cede a fourteen-point margin to the Canadians.

The Black Ferns have won nineteen matches in a row, suffering but one loss in 31-contests. They have built a wide talent pool this season, producing one super star in Ruby Tui. She was named Player of the Final in Canada last week.

The Dream Team in Canada:

Bianca Farella, Canada

Michaela Blyde, NZ

Ghislaine Landry, Canada

Sharni Williams, Australia

Brittany Benn, Canada

Ruby Tui, NZ

Charity Williams, Canada

The USA Eagles

To date, the season has been a bit of roller coaster ride for the Eagles, sometimes upsetting the top teams, and sometimes, losing to the lesser or equal sides. They stand sixth overall (52) in the standings with a final opportunity to move to fifth, and an outside chance to move to fourth.  Russia (58) and Fiji (54), the two teams above the Eagles, have demonstrated improvement from last season, as have the Eagles, with all three sides moving up as England dropped far behind.