You are here

Stade Jean-Bouin, Paris

The start of the seventh Women’s Rugby World Cup (WRWC) is August 1 in France when twelve-teams will compete for the championship. The initial games will be played at the CNR (Centre National du Rugby) in Marcoussis, twenty miles south of Paris. At the CNR are four pitches, two grass, one turf, and one with a shed roof. The final will be played August 17 in Paris at the Stade Jean-Bouin. Last weekend in New Zealand, the Black Ferns defeated Canada 33-21, scoring four tries in the first half and leading 26-7 at the break. The Canadians scored two tries to New Zealand’s one.  New Zealand also defeated Canada 16-8 in the first contest The Black Ferns previously defeated Samoa (90-12) and Australia, (38-3), while the Maple Leafs were victorious over the Wallabees.22-0.

Twelve teams will compete in the 2014 WRWC:

Pool A – Canada, England, Samoa, Spain

Pool B – Ireland, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, USA

Pool C – Australia, France, South Africa, Wales

Past results: New Zealand have won the last three tournaments, each time defeating England for the title. The US won the first event, and finished runners up in the next two, but have not made the finals in the past three events.

Play/Scoring;  Each pool is a single round robin, with each team playing one match against the other teams in the same pool. Teams are awarded four points for a win, two points for a draw and none for a defeat. A team scoring four or more tries in one match will score a bonus point, as will a team that loses by seven points or fewer.