You are here

Women's 7s

The Women's 7s circuit commences this Friday, May 15, in London. The twelve core teams will compete when New Zealand is again the favorite to win their fifth straight tournament.

The Black Ferns total 80-points (Cup victories at 20 points each times four), securing an Olympic place for Rio 2016. The squad plays with savvy and determination, achieving run away wins in the Cup finals to date. Psychologically, the team has tried to tamp down the disappointment that arose when the XVs finished a poor fifth in last year's Rugby World Cup in France.

For five nations bunched together, London is a crucial tournament to gain points to qualify for the three other Olympic placements. The five countries and their points to date follow:

(2) Canada        = 58

(3) France          = 52

(4) USA               = 48

(4) England       = 48

(6) Australia     = 46

England has recalled Rachael Burford and Kay Wilson to bolster the squad. Canada has welcomed back the speedy Magali Harvey, World Rugby's 2014 Player of the Year.

The Pools

A - New Zealand, France, Brazil, Spain

B - Canada, England, South Africa, Russia

C - Australia, USA, Fiji, China

The semis and finals will be played at Twickenham Stoop, home of the Harlequins.

Women's Eagles: 
1. Megan Bonny 
2. Kelly Griffin 
3. Kathryn Johnson 
4. Alev Kelter 
5. Bui Baravilala 
6. Lauren Doyle 
7. Victoria Folayan 
8. Rebekah Siebach 
9. Irene Gardner 
10. Kate Zackary 
11. Hannah Lopez 
12. Kristen Thomas

Match Schedule and Times: ET 
v China - Friday, May 15 - 8:06 a.m. ET 
v Fiji - Friday, May 15 - 10:50 a.m. ET 
v Australia - Friday, May 15 - 1:34 p.m. ET