You are here


World Rugby announced the pool draw for the fifth HSBC Women's 7s tournament to be held in Langford, British Columbia, Canada, May 27 and May 28th. The event will be played in Westhills Stadium with a 1,700-seat capacity.

The placement from tournament to tournament is based on performance from the last event. Since the USA finished seventh in Japan, they were seeded seventh for Langford. This means they will play in Pool A. The drawings for the three pools follow:

Pool A - New Zealand, England, USA, Netherlands

Pool B - Canada, Russia, France, Brazil

Pool C - Australia, Fiji, Ireland, Spain

In Japan, the USA split matches with England, and lost to the Black Ferns. Eight of the twelve teams move on to the quarterfinals.

The sixth, and final, event will be in France in June.

New Zealand lead Australia by ten points in the standings.

Both Canada and Fiji have demonstrated significant improvement this year. The Canadians won a tournament (Sydney) and lost narrowly to New Zealand in Japan last time. Fiji have proved they can compete on top level.