You are here

The second leg of the World Rugby Women’s 7s tournament will be played this Saturday and Sunday (February 20 and 21) in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

For the Women Eagles, it is an opportunity to demonstrate that the poor, first round performance in Dubai was an aberration.  That first contest proved unsettling also for three-time champion New Zealand, which finished a disappointing fifth. And even Canada, always a sevens contender in the past, dropped to sixth in the 12-team standing with a lackluster outcome.

USA Coach Jules McCoy has been busy finding the right combination of players. And she welcomes three new caps for the Brazil match: Rachael Griendling, Ashley Perry, and Naya Tapper.

McCoy also invited the Canadian side to scrimmage at the Olympic Training Center.

The Pools      

A = Australia (1), Canada (6), Fiji (7), and Ireland (12)

B = Russia (2), New Zealand (5), Spain (8) and USA (11)

C = England (3). France (4), Japan (9) and Brazil (10)

Women's Eagles Sevens | Brazil Women's Sevens 
Bui Baravilala 
Megan Bonny 
Ryan Carlyle 
Joanne Fa'avesi 
Rachel Griendling *
Kelly Griffin 
Jessica Javelet 
Alev Kelter 
Ashley Perry *
Jillion Potter 
Naya Tapper
Kristen Thomas

(* = first time caps)

Women's Eagles Sevens | Non-traveling reserves 
Meya Bizer 
Cheta Emba 
Jane Paar

Women's Eagles Sevens | Brazil Women's Sevens 
v. New Zealand (12) - Saturday, Feb. 20 @ 9:50 a.m. ET 
v. Russia (2) - Saturday, Feb. 20 @ 12:12 p.m. ET 
v. Spain (6) - Saturday, Feb. 20 @ 3:18 p.m. ET