You are here

After three tournaments, Australia lead the HSBC Women’s Sevens Circuit by six-points over New Zealand: 56-50. In the past three-years totaling 14-events to-date, the Black Ferns and the Wallaroos have won eleven of the fourteen tournaments between them with Canada winning two, and England one.

Australia won the 2016 Olympic Gold medal in Rio defeating New Zealand. In this recent 2018 Commonwealth Games, the places were reversed with the Kiwis taking the gold, and the Aussies the silver.

But second place over the 14 tournaments totals a fifty-fifty split among ANZAC (7) and All Others (7), which includes Canada, Russia, the USA, and France in this past weekend’s Japan event. It marked Les Bleues first second or third place finish in the past three-years.

The current standings follow:

  1. Australia           56
  2. New Zealand   50
  3. Russia                42
  4. France                40
  5. Canada              32
  6. Spain                  32
  7. USA                     30

The Eagles scored eighteen points in Dubai, six in Sydney, and four in Japan where they finished in ninth place. Canada ended in eleventh position in Japan.

The Kitakyusha Dream Team featured two Spaniards, and five nations with one player each:

  • Montserrat Amedee, France
  • Chin Keyi, China
  • Evania Petite, Australia
  • Maria Ribera, Spain
  • Alexa Mikhaltsova, Russia
  • Patricia Garcia, Spain
  • Sarah Goss, NZ

The teams move to Langford, Canada, to play on May 12 and May13. The last tournament will be in Paris in June.