You are here


The sixth and final tournament of the HSBC Women's sevens series for 2018/2019 will take place in Biarritz, France, next weekend.  Twelve teams will compete, and, after the event, the four nations with the highest point totals will qualify automatically for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

New Zealand are the favorite, the Black Ferns have won four of the past five tournaments. They are a well-balanced squad with a roster of stars. They lead the series with 92 points.

The USA stand second with 80 points, having achieved one silver and three bronze medals.

The Pools

A: NZ, England, Russia, Scotland

B: Australia, Canada, Spain, Ireland

C: USA, France, Fiji, China

USA Women's Sevens Team 

Abby Gustaitis

Naya Tapper

Alev Kelter

Kristen Thomas 

Cheta Emba 

Kasey McCravey 

Nicole Heavirland (C) 

Nana Fa'avesi

Kayla Canett 

Lauren Doyle (C) 

Kristi Kirshe 

Ilona Maher

Stephanie Rovetti (substitute)

Coach - Chris Brown

Standings - Top Five

(Indicates Medals: 15 total)
NZ - 92 points (4)

USA - 80 (4)

Canada - 78 (3)

Australia - 74 (3)

France - 60 (0)

England - 47 (1)

The Biarritz Venue

The Stade Aguiléra will host the tournament, originally slotted for Paris.  Biarritz is known as a luxury resort on the west coast of France on the Bay of Biscay. It features a casino, and a surfing culture. 

Travellers can make a short 50-minute drive to San Sebastian, Spain, for excellent tapas, and to sample the well-known local wine called Chacoli. 

From San Sebastian, it's an hour and fifteen-minute drive to Bilbao and the Guggenheim Museum designed by Frank Gehry.