You are here


As the dust settles on an incredible Women's Rugby World Cup 2017 final and a tournament that captured the imagination of fans in host nation Ireland and around the globe, a Dream Team has been selected by the World Rugby TV commentators.

Six nations are represented across the 15 players, who will each receive a special jersey to commemorate their selection in the Dream Team.

World champions New Zealand have five players in the Dream Team, two of them in the forwards in victorious captain Fiao'o Faamausili and prop Toka Natua, who scored a hat-trick of tries in the 41-32 defeat of England in the final.  

France, though, have three players, including their impressive blindside flanker Romane Menager who shared the tag of top scorer among the forwards with Canada captain Kelly Russell and Paula Fitzpatrick of Ireland with four.

Three Black Ferns feature in the backline, among them Portia Woodman, the winger who played every minute of New Zealand's matches and scored an incredible 13 tries along the way to finish as the top try and point scorer with 65.

While Woodman was a shoe-in for the No.14 jersey, other positions were the subject of much debate, including scrum-half and full-back. 

Moe Tsukui was, at 17, the youngest player in the tournament but performances way beyond her tender years made her one of Japan's stand-out players and saw her just edge out New Zealand's Kendra Cocksedge for the scrum-half jersey and take her place as the only player from outside a top five ranked team.

The USA placed Sara Parson and Kristin Thomas, while Canada's Fullback, J. Zussman also made the Dream Team 2017.

1. Annaelle Deshayes - France

2. Fiao'o Fammausili - NZ

3. Toka Natua - NZ

4. Lenaig Cosson - France

5. Tamara Taylor - England

6. Sara Parsons - USA

7. Romaine Menager - France

8. Sarah Hunter - England

9. M. Tsukui - Japan

10. V. Subritzky-Nafatali - NZ

11. Kristin Thomas - USA

12, K. Brazier - NZ

13. Emily Scarrat - England

14. Portia Woodman - NZ

15. J.Zussman - Canada